How has A-VOYCE affected your life?

Today during A-VOYCE our Youth Coordinator, Shawn, announced to us that there was a possibility that A-VOYCE would end at the end of the summer. ACDC, the Asian Community Development Corporation, a non-profit organization dedicated to providing affordable housing in Chinatown, can no longer fund this program, and we haven’t been able to get many grants. However, there is still a possibility that A-VOYCE may not be ending. Call me pessimistic, but I can’t seem to get my hopes up.

As a member for nearly three years, I have been spending most of my Saturdays at ACDC, hanging out, participating in the discussions, and of course, going on the radio. A-VOYCE has become part of my life, and I am greatly saddened that it might be ending. I always thought that I would continue with it until I graduated high school. The Winter Party, the Sushi-rama, Participatory Chinatown. This year has been eventful, but I wish I contributed more.

Today, in the Youth Council Meeting, we had a short discussion on how to approach this: we talked about merging with other Youth programs, holding a fundraiser, etc. But with the current economy and the fact that there are other programs, we didn’t divulge into it any further.

We still have next week’s meeting, where we will be wrapping up APIA Month with another documentary, and the BBQ the week after and then that’ll be it. The youth who signed up to work during the summer will work, but for the other youth, this might be it.

We have to face reality, and the truth is, everything has an end. I just wish that that end comes later. Never forget you have a voice, no matter what age, sex, ethnicity, or race. This is what A-VOYCE has taught me.

So tell me about your experiences. Your regrets. Your hopes.

How has A-VOYCE affected your life?

-Oak Terrace Youth

3 thoughts on “How has A-VOYCE affected your life?

  1. Well even though I haven’t been going much, I did learned alot with the relative short time I’ve been with A-Voyce especially on things such as the history of Chinatown and many social problems. A major thing that I took away from A-Voyce would be leadership and standing up for your beliefs.

  2. Ever since joining A-VOYCE back in sophomore year, I have gained a tremendous amount of leadership qualities. It might be corny to say this, but A-VOYCE has really changed my life (even though it has been only 18 years…). I can certainly say A-VOYCE has been a main turning point in my life.

    The people who worked either indirectly or directly at A-VOYCE have also been an inspiration for me. I have learned to think in different methods and seen different perspectives of certain topics. I have become more politically and socially aware AND I have gained a passion for community activism. Every time I participate in a workshop or work with residents in Chinatown, I am challenged to think critically, to solve problems, and to become a youth interpreter.

    Even though A-VOYCE may end next year, I know it will revive itself and become strong again with years to come. Youth organizations will come and go, but youth will always remain strong. I feel the youth of A-VOYCE, and our great youth coordinators truly have made A-VOYCE special. And of course the unique A-VOYCE curriculum with its radio shows and walking tours also defined its individuality from other youth organizations.

    A-VOYCE has created a family I can always go back to. I have fond memories with most, if not all the members, new and old. A-VOYCE is the place where I learned more than just leadership skills, youth empowerment, APIA issues, and Chinatown. I have learned life lessons and have made great friends that I will carry on throughout my life.

  3. What? AVOYCE is ending? I didn’t even know about this, I honestly almost started crying just now. I’ve only been in AVOYCE for a year and it’s already ending? I wanted to be in AVOYCE until I graduated from High School. AVOYCE let me meet a lot of cool people and talk to people I’ve never even talked to before from my school. It let me hang out with my friends and grow closer to them. It taught me that I can make a difference in the community that I live in.

Leave a Reply

